Upgrade Turkish Economy Class to Business Class

Hi Everyone, I hope you are well. I am new in Germany and trying to learn all the hacks with payback and points. I have read quite a lot but I still find it confusing. I already have a CitiGold Debit Card (USA) and It has no transaction fees anywhere in the world and currency conversion rates are superb.

Here is what I want to achieve
I and my wife fly 2 times a year from Leipzig to Islamabad (via Istanbul) on Turkish Airlines. My only goal here is to somehow upgrade economy to business class without paying insane amount. I already pay for economy tickets. Just hoping to travel business class

2nd option is Flying from Prague to Islamabad via Emirates. Economy flight prices are almost similar.

What is my best strategy here?

Which credit card should I get? Is Amex Gold the best option here? Is there a way I can simply buy points to be used for upgrading from economy to business class? I have no issue spending money for this as long as value for miles is nice.

I can spend around 20,000 euros on my credit card annually.

I’m very thankful to all of you for help. This forum is a blessing.

Hi newguyde,
Welcome to the forum and yes it is a little confusing :grinning:
So your question or better your aim is infact a tricky one.
Some questions from my side : 1. Do you collect with your credit card City Thank You Points? did you receive a sign up bonus when applying for that card? Do you know that you are able to transfer the TYP ( thank you points) to a couple of Airline programs as well as Hotel loyalty programs?
So if your aim is to fly inside Star Alliance and living in Germany , the best strategy is Amex Payback as a CC, its free no annual fees to pay for it, and the payback program for collecting miles in general. Be a member of Miles & More from Lufthansa and keep in mind that Award miles are expiring after 36 months. to transfer your Payback points into Award Flights, Miles & More is the only way to do so.